The Agnetha Fältskog Remasters - the details

Published August 24, 2010

In Polar Music International/Universal Music's continued quest for upgrading the ABBA catalogue and the solo recordings made by the individual members, the re-release of remastered versions of the solo albums made by Frida and Agnetha had long been on the cards. In the autumn of 2004, there was finally time to get to grips with those albums.

The plan was to remaster the albums, to add appropriate bonus tracks, and to give the entire packaging an overhaul. I gave the matter some thought and submitted suggestions for track listings, including bonus tracks - previous CD issues of these albums did not feature any bonus material. And so finally, in August 2005, after the re-release of the Frida albums in May, came the Agnetha Fältskog albums: Nu tändas tusen juleljus (1981), Wrap Your Arms Around Me (1983) and Eyes Of A Woman (1985).

The Christmas album Nu tändas tusen juleljus - actually a duet project with Agnetha's daughter Linda - contains no bonus selections, but the two bona fide solo albums do. Wrap Your Arms Around Me perhaps offers the most interesting selection of bonus tracks, seeing as three of them had never been available on CD before. They are the single A- and B-sides ‘It’s So Nice To Be Rich’ (the original full-length single version) and ‘P&B’, along with the extended 12-inch version of ‘The Heat Is On’ (named 'Super Dance Music Mix' on the original Swedish 12-inch single and also on this CD reissue). Only the hit single duet with Tomas Ledin, ‘Never Again’, and its Spanish-language version, 'Ya Nunca Más', have been previously available on CD. However, the latter must be regarded as fairly rare, since it was previously only available on a Tomas Ledin CD.

The version of 'It's So Nice To Be Rich' that was previously released on CD - on the Agnetha compilations My Love, My Life (1996) and That's Me (1998) - was an edited mono mix. The reason for its release was that the original master tape could not be located; unfortunately, this tape seems to be lost forever. However, rather than opt for that edited mono mix for the Wrap Your Arms Around Me remaster, we decided to master the track from a copy of the original vinyl single.

The bonus tracks on Eyes Of A Woman are the single B-sides ‘You’re There’ and ‘Turn The World Around’, along with the Agnetha and Ola Håkansson duets released on a 1986 single: ‘The Way You Are’ and ‘Fly Like The Eagle’. The 12-inch version of ’I Won’t Let You Go’, which is also a bonus track, has never been released on CD.

The design for the Agnetha Fältskog remasters was created by Fredrik Hurtig of In Fine Style. Notably, lyrics for all songs on the Agnetha Fältskog albums have also been included. Through the generous contributions of ABBA fans Ian Cole, Pepe, Wouter Timmers and Björn Waldenström, the booklets also feature a selection of single sleeves appropriate to each album.

As usual, Ian Cole has also provided extremely useful feedback throughout the entire project. I should also mention that Brady L. Benton, a dedicated audiophile and ABBA fan, listened through test CDs of both Wrap Your Arms Around Me and Eyes Of A Woman, and made an invaluable contribution to the sonic quality of those CDs.

There are no liner notes included in these remasters, but read the article I wrote for ABBA - The Official Site to learn more about the albums (see link to the right).

The Agnetha Fältskog remasters were released on August 15, 2005. For further details, click on the "Track listings and ordering info" link under More info.


The Agnetha Fältskog Remasters. Nu tändas tusen juleljus, Wrap Your Arms Around Me and Eyes Of A Woman originally released 1981-1985. These remasters released by Polar on August 15, 2005. For catalogue numbers, see Track listing links below.